Research Team

SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics

The team

The SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics is a unique success story at the frontier of life and computer science. When the Institute was founded in 1998, bioinformatics was still in its infancy, both in Switzerland and abroad. Today SIB is an independent non-profit foundation, recognized as being of public utility, which provides world-class bioinformatics to the national and international life science community. It is also the largest national bioinformatics network in Europe.

After almost 20 years of existence, the Institute today brings together 65 groups and about 800 scientists.

SIB’s mission is to leads and coordinates the field of bioinformatics in Switzerland. Our data science experts join forces to advance biological and medical research and enhance health by:

  • offering the national and international life sciences community a cutting-edge infrastructure in bioinformatics, including resources, expertise and services;
  • bringing together world-class researchers and delivering training in bioinformatics.

 

SIB ON CAMPUS BIOTECH: FOCUS ON PERSONALISED HEALTH

Today, Big Data is generated by modern technologies such as high-speed DNA sequencing. Data related to patients is of great interest for doctors if exploited correctly. It makes it possible to diagnose an illness at an early stage or adapt a tailor-made treatment. This is what is known as personalised medicine.

SIB is today playing a leading role in Switzerland’s personalized health landscape, by sharing its expertise in bioinformatics with hospitals and by building the infrastructure that will enable patients’ data to be used for research and to foster novel developments in personalized health.

In this context, three groups from SIB dedicated to personalised health are working at Campus Biotech:

  • Clinical bioinformatics: created in 2013, this group makes the link between the world of bioinformatics and the medical community. Its main objective is to engage in a collaborative work with Swiss hospitals to bridge the gap between current medical practices and technology outputs. The team’s missions are thus to establish common good practices for high-throughput omics data analysis in diagnostics across Swiss hospitals, and develop, implement and sustain state-of-the-art approaches and tools for upcoming technologies and medical needs in the field of data science.
  • Swiss-Prot: composed of around fifty biocurators, this group is in charge of developing and maintaining the UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot database, the most used resource on proteins around the world, in collaboration with the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI, GB) and the Protein Information Resource (PIR, USA). Swiss-Prot group also works on the PROSITE, ENZYME, HAMAP, RHEA, SwissLipids and ViralZone databases.
  • Vital-IT: The Vital-IT multidisciplinary team of scientists and technical staff maintains a competence centre in bioinformatics and computational biology to link fundamental and applied research. The core facility enables scientists to access state-of-the-art computational infrastructure (processing, storage and archiving) as well as expertise in data analysis and algorithmic development. Vital-IT partners with scientists to build computational solutions facilitating their research or to transform their ideas into production-quality software. 

Moreover, SIB has been selected by the Swiss Government to set up and run two types of data infrastructure in the SPHN initiative: SPHN Data Coordination Centre and BioMedIT.

Équipe de Recherche

SIB Institut Suisse de Bioinformatique

The team

L’Institut Suisse de Bioinformatique est un exemple de réussite exceptionnelle à la frontière entre sciences de la vie et informatique. Lors de sa création, en 1998, la bioinformatique n’en était encore qu’à ses balbutiements, en Suisse comme à l’étranger. Aujourd’hui, le SIB est une fondation indépendante à but non lucratif, reconnue d’utilité publique, qui fournit des services de bioinformatique de classe mondiale à la communauté nationale et internationale des sciences de la vie. Il représente également le réseau national de bioinformatique le plus important d’Europe.

Après près de 20 ans d’existence, l’Institut réunit aujourd’hui 65 groupes et près de 800 scientifiques.

La mission du SIB consiste à diriger et coordonner la bioinformatique en Suisse. Nos experts en science des données collaborent pour faire avancer la recherche biologique et médicale et améliorer la santé :

  • en offrant à la communauté nationale et internationale des sciences de la vie une infrastructure de pointe en bioinformatique incluant des ressources, une expertise et des services;
  • en rassemblant des chercheurs de classe mondiale et en organisant des formations en bioinformatique.

SIB SUR LE CAMPUS BIOTECH : FOCUS SUR LA MEDECINE PERSONNALISÉE

Aujourd’hui, un énorme volume de données (Big Data) est généré par les technologies modernes, telles que le séquençage d’ADN à haut débit. Correctement exploitées, les données associées aux patients présentent un intérêt majeur pour les médecins. Cela leur permet de diagnostiquer une maladie à un stade précoce ou d’adapter un traitement sur-mesure. C’est ce qu’on appelle la médecine personnalisée.

Le SIB joue un rôle majeur dans le paysage de la médecine personnalisée en Suisse en partageant son expertise en bioinformatique avec les hôpitaux et en bâtissant l’infrastructure qui permettra aux données de patients d’être utilisées pour la recherche et ainsi d’encourager de nouveaux développements.

Dans ce contexte, trois groupes du SIB dédiés à la santé personnalisée travaillent sur le Campus Biotech :

  • Bioinformatique clinique : créé en 2013, ce groupe fait le lien entre le monde de la bioinformatique et la communauté médicale. Son principal objectif consiste à collaborer avec les hôpitaux suisses afin de créer un pont entre les pratiques médicales actuelles et les progrès technologiques. Les missions de l’équipe visent donc à établir de bonnes pratiques communes entre les hôpitaux suisses pour l’analyse haut débit des données «-omiques» dans le cadre du diagnostic. Il s’agit également de développer, mettre en œuvre et soutenir des approches et outils de pointe pour les futures besoins technologiques et médicaux dans le domaine de la science des données.
  • Swiss-Prot : composé d’une cinquantaine de biocurateurs, ce groupe est un centre de compétences chargé de développer et d’entretenir la base de données UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot, la ressource sur les protéines la plus utilisée dans le monde, en collaboration avec l’Institut européen de bioinformatique (EBI, GB) et le Protein Information Resource (PIR, USA). Le groupe Swiss-Prot travaille aussi sur les bases de données PROSITE, ENZYME, HAMAP, RHEA, SwissLipids et ViralZone.
  • Vital-IT : l’équipe pluridisciplinaire de scientifiques et techniciens Vital-IT gère un centre de compétences en bioinformatique et biologie computationnelle afin de faire le lien entre recherche fondamentale et recherche appliquée. Ce centre permet aux scientifiques d’accéder à des infrastructures de calculs de toute dernière génération (traitement, stockage et archivage) ainsi qu’à une expertise en matière d’analyse des données et de développement d’algorithmes. Vital-IT collabore avec les scientifiques pour élaborer des solutions de calculs qui facilitent leurs recherches ou pour transformer leurs idées en logiciels de qualité. 

En outre, le SIB a été retenu par le gouvernement suisse pour mettre en place et gérer deux types d’infrastructures de données au sein de l’initiative SPHN (Swiss Personalized Health Network) : le Centre de coordination des données SPHN et BioMedIT.