i-resources
Contact

mri@fcbg.ch

  • mri@fcbg.ch

Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) has become an essential technique in the field of neuroscience research. It makes it possible to obtain three-dimensional images of the brain with a millimetre resolution and in a completely non-invasive manner.

Thanks to functional MRI, researchers can localise brain activations in response to a given stimulus or requested action. The images acquired can also be coupled with the recording of physiological signals (heart rate, breathing rate etc.). The combination of all of this data makes it possible to define brain functionality more accurately.

At Campus Biotech, the MRI platform is entirely dedicated to neuroscience studies. This research demands sophisticated analysis at the forefront of technology and so the latest equipment is used. The scanner has the most modern and innovative MRI applications that make it possible to capture images of brain function with better spatial and temporal resolution.  The system for recording physiological signals contains various different modules for expanding the study data. A high definition screen and 3D glasses contribute towards better visualisation. 

An MRI "Mock Scanner" simulator is also available so that researchers can elaborate their studies and better prepare participants for the MRI tunnel environment and the different tasks that they will have to perform.

Scientific leadership of the platform is overseen by Professors Olaf Blanke (EPFL) and Patrik Vuilleumier (UNIGE).

Dr. Roberto Martuzzi and Ms. Loan Mattera are present at Campus Biotech to ensure that the MRI studies are coordinated and run smoothly.

i-resources
Contact

mri@fcbg.ch

  • mri@fcbg.ch

L’imagerie par résonance magnétique est devenue une technique essentielle dans le domaine de la recherche en neuroscience. Elle permet d’obtenir des images du cerveau en trois dimensions avec une résolution millimétrique et de façon totalement non invasive.

Grâce à l’IRM fonctionnelle, les chercheurs peuvent localiser des activations cérébrales répondant à une stimulation donnée ou une action demandée. L’acquisition des images peut être aussi couplée avec l’enregistrement de signaux physiologiques (fréquence cardiaque, rythme respiratoire, etc.). La combinaison de toutes ces données permet une meilleure définition de la fonctionnalité cérébrale.

À Campus Biotech, la plateforme IRM est entièrement dédiée aux études en neuroscience. Ces recherches demandent une analyse poussée, exigeant d’être à la pointe de la technologie. Aussi, l’équipement possède les dernières performances techniques. Le scanner est doté des plus récentes applications IRM innovantes qui permettent une meilleure résolution spatiale et temporelle des images de la fonction cérébrale. Le système d’enregistrement des signaux physiologiques comporte déjà plusieurs modules différents pour élargir les données des études. Un écran en haute définition et des lunettes 3D contribuent à une meilleure visualisation. Un simulateur IRM «Mock Scanner » est aussi mis à disposition pour que les chercheurs puissent élaborer leurs études et préparer au mieux les participants à l’environnement du tunnel de l’IRM et aux différentes tâches qu’ils devront effectuer.

La direction scientifique de la plateforme est gérée par les Professeurs Olaf Blanke (EPFL), et Patrik Vuilleumier (UNIGE).
Dr. Roberto Martuzzi et Mme Loan Mattera sont présents sur le campus pour la coordination et le bon fonctionnement des études IRM.
 

Autre Resources