Christian Lovis is professor of clinical informatics at the University of Geneva and leads the Division of Medical Information Sciences at the Geneva University Hospitals. He is a medical doctor trained in Internal Medicine with special emphasis on emergency medicine and holds a FHM in Internal Medicine and is graduated in public health from the University of Washington, Seattle, USA, with a mention in community based health. In parallel to medicine, he studied medical informatics at the University of Geneva under the supervision of Prof Jean-Raoul Scherrer, focusing on clinical information systems and medical semantics.

Between 2000 and 2010, he was in charge of developing and deploying the computerized patient record for the university hospitals of Geneva. Christian is the author of a large number of peer-reviewed papers in the field of medical informatics focusing on three pillars:  a) Medical semantics, knowledge representation and natural language processing; b) Clinical information systems, architectures, strategy, secondary usage of data for clinical research and c) advanced human-machine interfaces and their evaluation and impacts, human factors. Christian is editorial board member of major peer-reviewed journals in medical informatics, such as the Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association (JAMIA), PLOS One, the Journal of Medical Internet Research (JMIR), Applied Clinical Informatics (ACI).  He is chairing the Traceability working group of the European Federation of Medical Informatics, the “standard und Architektur” and the “Semantik” working groups of the Swiss eHealth federal coordination committee.

Christian is member of several working groups at the European Union for ICT activities, such as impacts of health records, policies around secondary usage of clinical data, or regulation for the usage of RFID in healthcare and active in major BigData European research programs such as clinical leader of the DebugIT Eu project of the 7th framework, that intend to develop a distributed pan-European network around infectious disease surveillance using clinical information systems or data providers for the Innovative Medicine Initiative project EHR4CR.

Christian Lovis is the European representative and vice-chair elect of the board of managers of HIMSS Global, the largest worldwide organization supporting the improvement of care systems using health care information and management systems.

Christian Lovis est professeur d'informatique clinique à l'Université de Genève et mène la Division des sciences de l'information médicale des Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève. Il est un médecin formé en médecine interne avec un accent particulier sur la médecine d'urgence et est titulaire d'un FHM en médecine interne et est diplômé en santé publique de l'Université de Washington, Seattle, États-Unis, avec une mention en matière de santé à base communautaire. En parallèle à la médecine, il a étudié l'informatique médicale à l'Université de Genève, sous la direction du Professeur Jean-Raoul Scherrer, en se concentrant sur les systèmes d'information clinique et sémantique médicales.

Entre 2000 et 2010, il était en charge du développement et du déploiement du dossier patient informatisé pour les hôpitaux universitaires de Genève. Christian est l'auteur d'un grand nombre d'articles évalués par des pairs dans le domaine de l'informatique médicale se concentrant sur trois piliers: a) la sémantique médicale, représentation des connaissances et le traitement du langage naturel; b) les systèmes d'information clinique, les architectures, la stratégie, l'utilisation secondaire des données pour la recherche clinique et c) interfaces homme-machine de pointe et leur évaluation et les impacts, les facteurs humains. Christian est membre du conseil de rédaction de grandes revues en informatique médicale, tels que le Journal de l'American Medical Informatics Association (JAMIA), PLOS One, le Journal of Medical Internet Research (JMIR), informatique clinique appliquée (ACI). Il préside le groupe de travail de Traçabilité de la Fédération européenne de l'informatique médicale et les groupes de travail du comité de coordination fédérale suisse eHealth la «Standard und Architektur»  et le "Semantik".

Christian est membre de plusieurs groupes de travail de l'Union européenne pour les activités de ICT, tels que les impacts des dossiers de santé, la politique autour de l'utilisation secondaire des données cliniques, ou de la réglementation pour l'utilisation de la RFID dans les soins de santé. Il est aussi actif dans de grands programmes de recherche BigData européens par exemple en tant que responsable clinique  du projet européen FP7 DebugIT, qui a pour but de développer un réseau pan-européen répartis autour de surveillance des maladies infectieuses en utilisant des systèmes d'information clinique ou les fournisseurs de données pour le projet EHR4CR Innovative Medicine Initiative.

Christian Lovis est le représentant et vice-président élu européen du conseil de gérance du HIMSS mondial, la plus grande organisation mondiale de soutien à l'amélioration des systèmes de soins en utilisant l'information de soins de santé et les systèmes de gestion.