Foundation

Aga Khan Development Network

For over 60 years, the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) has been building institutions and delivering essential services by creating schools and hospitals, newspapers and electricity generation plants, and social programmes of all kinds. These services have helped improve the lives of hundreds of millions of people in places as varied as Cairo, Kabul, Delhi and Bamako.

The agencies of the AKDN are private, international, non-denominational development organisations. They work to improve the welfare and prospects of people in the developing world, particularly in Asia and Africa. Some programmes, such as specific research, education and cultural programmes, span both the developed and developing worlds. While each agency pursues its own mandate, all of them work together within the overarching framework of the Network so that their different pursuits interact and reinforce one another.

The AKDN works in over 30 countries around the world. It employs approximately 80,000 people, the majority of whom are based in developing countries. The AKDN’s annual budget for non-profit development activities is approximately US$ 950 million (2018). The project companies of the Aga Khan Fund for Economic Development generated revenues of US$ 4.3 billion (all surpluses are reinvested in further development activities).

 

Photo credit and caption: AKDN / Aref Karimi. A study by Dr Frances Aboud of McGill University showed the tremendous difference that community ECD programmes can make in children’s lives, even in the most remote settings, such as Bamyan, Afghanistan.

"If girls in remote places are provided with access to education close to their homes and in a context which recognises community values and concerns, they are more likely to go to school, stay in school and learn. Across 15 provinces in Afghanistan, AKDN is employing this community-based approach to help tens of thousands of girls to gain access to quality education."

Partners who have supported the programme or institution pictured above: Dubai Cares, German Embassy, German Foreign Office, Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ), Global Affairs Canada (GAC), International Organisation for Migration, Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), New Zealand Aid, Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (NORAD), Roshan Telecommunications, United Kingdom Department for International Development (DfID), United States Agency for International Development (USAID), United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Fondation

Aga Khan Development Network

Depuis plus de 60 ans, le Réseau Aga Khan de développement (AKDN) crée des institutions et fournit des services essentiels : établissements scolaires, hôpitaux, journaux, centrales électriques et divers programmes sociaux. Ces services améliorent les conditions de vie de centaines de millions d’habitants dans des endroits aussi divers que Le Caire, Kaboul, Delhi ou Bamako.

Les agences de l’AKDN sont des organisations de développement privées, internationales et non confessionnelles. Elles œuvrent à améliorer les conditions de vie et les perspectives d’avenir des populations dans les pays en développement, notamment en Asie et en Afrique. Certains programmes dédiés à la recherche dans des domaines particuliers, à l’éducation et à la culture englobent à la fois le monde développé et le monde en développement. Si chaque agence a sa propre mission, toutes collaborent au sein du Réseau afin que leurs différentes actions se recoupent et se renforcent mutuellement.

AKDN intervient dans plus de 30 pays à travers le monde. Le Réseau emploie quelque 80 000 personnes, dont la majorité travaille dans les pays en développement. Le budget annuel qu’AKDN consacre à ses activités de développement à but non lucratif s’élève à environ 25 millions de dollars US (2016). En 2015, les sociétés de projet financées par le Fonds Aga Khan pour le développement économique (AKFED) représentaient 4,1 milliards de dollars US de chiffre d’affaires (la totalité des bénéfices étant réinvestie dans des activités de développement).

 

Photo et légende AKDN/Aref Karimi. Une étude menée par Frances Aboud de McGill University a montré l’influence considérable que peuvent avoir les programmes locaux de développement de la petite enfance sur la vie des enfants, même dans les régions les plus isolées comme la province de Bamyan en Afghanistan.

"Si l’on donne aux filles des régions reculées un accès à l’éducation qui soit près de chez elles et qui prenne en compte les valeurs et les préoccupations de leur communauté, elles ont alors plus de chances d’aller à l’école, d’y rester et d’apprendre. AKDN met en œuvre cette approche de proximité dans 15 provinces de l’Afghanistan afin d’aider des dizaines de milliers de filles à accéder à une éducation de qualité."

Partenaires ayant soutenu le programme ou l’institution en photo ci-dessus : Dubai Cares, Ambassade d’Allemagne, ministère allemand des Affaires étrangères, Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ), Affaires mondiales Canada, Organisation internationale pour les migrations (OIM), Agence japonaise de coopération internationale (JICA), New Zealand Aid, Agence norvégienne de développement et de coopération (NORAD), Roshan Telecommunications, United Kingdom Department for International Development (DfID), United States Agency for International Development (USAID), United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).