Stéphanie Lacour and Grégoire Courtine are shortlisted among five world-class researchers in medical engineering to receive the AF Harvey prize from the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Stéphanie Lacour and Grégoire Courtine are two of the five researchers shortlisted for the Institution of Engineering and Technology's (IET) prestigious £350'000 AF Harvey Engineering Research Prize.

The prize is awarded annually in recognition of outstanding achievements in engineering research alternatively in the fields of radar and microwave, lasers and optoelectronics, or medical engineering (this year).

One of the other nominees is Prof Warren Grill, from Duke University, who is also an expert in neurotechnologies, which makes a strong recognition of our field of research within medical engineering.

“The A F Harvey Engineering Research Prize recognizes the outstanding research achievements of the recipient, from anywhere in the world, who is identified through a search and selection process conducted by a panel of international experts from around the globe,” said Sir John O’Reilly, chair of the IET’s Search and Selection Panel for the Prize.

“We are incredibly proud, through the generous legacy from the late Dr A F Harvey to be able to recognize and support the furtherance of pioneering engineering research in these fields and thereby their subsequent impact in advancing the world around us. I’d like to congratulate our five finalists.”

The IET’s A F Harvey prize is named after Dr A F Harvey who bequeathed a generous sum of money to the IET for a trust fund to be set up in his name to further research in the specified fields.

The prize winner will be chosen from a shortlist of five candidates and announced in December 2020. The winning researcher will deliver a keynote lecture on their research at IET London: Savoy Place in spring 2021.

Source: EPFL.